a few questions on setting up a wvo system

Anything related to biodiesel/biofuels, questions, answers, technical information for all VW Diesel Engines should go here.

Moderator: Fatmobile

bbob203
Turbo Charger

a few questions on setting up a wvo system

Post by bbob203 »

1. what is the best place to splice into the coolant system?
2. when running a hose in hose system what are the ideal diameters for the coolant line and the fuel line?
3. best routing for lines? fuel filter heated first? heat exchanger first?
4. I'm going to be running a hot fox. is a heat exchanger up front neccesary?
5. best way to splice the pex/aluminun tubing fuel line into the filter.
91 jetta gl na german built
91 jetta gl ecodiesel
greg lousy
Turbo Charger

Re: a few questions on setting up a wvo system

Post by greg lousy »

I've been running my 81 caddy on WVO for about two years. I'm no expert but I can easily answer your questions.

1. splice one end of your WVO coolant loop line into the the "to heater" hose and the other end into your "from heater" hose.

2. Generally HIH consists of a 3/8 aluminum fuel line going through either 5/8 or 3/4 hose. I suppose you'd get less resistance with a 3/4 hose, but mine is 5/8 and works just fine. Of course its a different story with pex fuel line. I haven't used pex in HIH because I've read about a lot of problems that result.

3. First of all, read the answer to 4.
This may sound strange, but it is becoming a common consensus and it is definitely my experience (I have rerouted my coolant lines 4 times looking for the right flow).
You want to run parallel loops for your heating devices. I would recommend making a loop to the flat plate heat exchanger, then looping your other elements off of that loop (starting before the FPHE and returning after). This way your FPHE will receive coolant most directly, when as hot as possible. You could put everything else on one loop, or put your HIH and Hotfox on one loop, and your heated filter on another.