Vince the Veggie Vdub - 83 Golf

Anything related to biodiesel/biofuels, questions, answers, technical information for all VW Diesel Engines should go here.

Moderator: Fatmobile

WVOVWMK1
Glow Plug

Vince the Veggie Vdub - 83 Golf

Post by WVOVWMK1 »

Hi, just got hold of a Diesel Golf/Rabbit 83. 81000 miles from Wolfsburg condition! I'm in North Wales and am interested in doing some mods to make it run on WVO in our climate.
I have seen little information online regarding what is needed to get me started.
I have been scouring the internet for info for a couple of years now and I have a basic understanding of the process of turning chip fat into fuel.
If you are able to give me any pointers on the above mentioned topics I will be eternally grateful and if you ever find yourself in our neck of the woods, you'll get a pint of Wales best liquid refreshment.

Many thanks in advance people!
greg lousy
Turbo Charger

Re: Vince the Veggie Vdub - 83 Golf

Post by greg lousy »

welcome. This board doesn't get as much traffic as the others here, so responses may be a little slow. I did a two tank WVO conversion on an 81 caddy and ran on waste oil on and off for about two years. Fatmobile (as the name indicates) has also run on WVO and is more experienced than I. ... a few others too... handful maybe.

I thoroughly enjoyed the project. I'd like to get back into it but don't have the time or space to collect and purify oil right now. Thats the first thing I would tell you. The conversion isn't terribly difficult, but collecting, dewatering and filtering used oil requires ongoing and messy work. most don't keep up with it.