One biodieseler's experience

Anything related to biodiesel/biofuels, questions, answers, technical information for all VW Diesel Engines should go here.

Moderator: Fatmobile

XJCoupe
Glow Plug

One biodieseler's experience

Post by XJCoupe »

I've been using biodiesel for a few months now. While I'm far from an expert on either making it or long-term effects on vehicles, I thought I'd share my experience for the sake of those who are considering it.

I'm the second owner of my '81 Caddy (Pickup) 1.6D. I bought it in Sep. 2004 from my manager, who put about 260k on it. It's been well maintained, and no major mechanincal work has been done. (The head gasket has been replaced a couple times, but no head work was done.)

After about a tank and half on petrodiesel, I dumped in a half-tank of homebrew biodiesel to make B50. In retrospect, it would have been good to drive it longer on petrodiesel to establish a longer baseline. Though I've worked on my own vehicles for several years, I'm new to diesels.

The first fuel filter clogged after about 35 miles on B50. No biggie — I had a spare in the truck, thanks to the suggestion of other biodieselers. The following problems were considerably less pleasant to deal with. The engine would starve for fuel under heavy acceleration, and also started acting like it was out of fuel with about a quarter tank left (gauge is accurate). In both cases, there were a lot of air bubbles in the fuel line to the injection pump.

Both problems were solved by replacing the in-tank filter screen and
all of the fuel hoses. I want to emphasize that neither of these problems are inherent problems with the vehicle, which is almost a quarter-century old. There's also nothing inherently wrong with running biodiesel in an older VW, though you need to be prepared for some additional work.