1991 Jetta, TD, newbie

Technical questions and answers concerning all models of VW diesel vehicles.

Moderator: Fatmobile

ringram
Cetane Booster

1991 Jetta, TD, newbie

Post by ringram »

I'm new to Jetta's and diesels. What does that lever to the left of the steering wheel do? The one with the handle that you pull out? It pulls on a cable that is attached to the pump (injection system). Does it advance the timing for cold starts? Enrich the fuel mixture? Or ?

I've been running this for about a week. It was staring and running well. Now, when cold, it puts out a lot of white smoke. (unburnt fuel?), and runs rough. But, after a couple of minutes, it warms up a bit and runs smooth and no smoke. I suspect a problem with the glow plug(s).

Any thoughts/suggestions would be appreciated. thanks.
82vdub
Turbo Charger

Re: 1991 Jetta, TD, newbie

Post by 82vdub »

Welcome to the forum and welcome to the world of VW diesels.

The lever to the left of the steering colum is called the cold start cable. It changes the timing in the injector pump (IP) that advances the timing allowing for easier and better cold starts. You'll know a difference when it gets cold out in the fall.

With the white smoke, this is likely unburned diesel fuel. This could be a result of the IP timing or glow plugs as you suspect. If you pull the cold start cable, it should run better when this happens and may minimize the smoke. For a lot of people, the slight cloud when started cold is somewhat normal, depending on a lot of factors, but somewhat normal.

if you're going to service the car yourself, save yourself a lot of headaches and money and buy an official Bentley repair manual for your car. It's the bible of books for VW repairs and is full of everything you need.

Put your physical location in your profile. Cold staring in Florida is different that cold starting in upper Maine.
Everybody else lists their cars here - but not me.

I have too many to count
ringram
Cetane Booster