Converting a 1971 VW Camper to a Turbo Diesel

This is a place for us to share progress on and upgrades to our vw diesels.

Moderator: Fatmobile

avocado
Turbo Charger

Converting a 1971 VW Camper to a Turbo Diesel

Post by avocado »

I hope to post the tale of converting my 1971 VW Camper over to a turbo diesel here. We'll see how much I post...

I've been considering this conversion since ~2000. In the winter of 2004/2005 I found a donor engine on thesamba.com: a 1984 Jetta TD with 276k miles on it for ~$350 or so. Strong runner, but needed motor mounts, body work, suspension work, etc. Seemed like a good candidate.

I drove it from Philly to Baltimore (~100 miles?) and the oil light/buzzer came on a couple of times, but after checking the water temperature and oil level, my friend and I suspected a bad oil pressure switch.

Progress in 2004/2005:
Pulled the engine, tranny, and important bits and cut up the front end a little to do it. Had the body junked after offering it up on thesamba.com to no response. Broke off the vacuum plate valve in the process of pulling the engine.

Progress in 2006/2007:
There wasn't much progress between 2005 and 2007, as I moved, was busy with work, life, and trying to keep my other VW Bus on the road.

I purchased a vanagon oil sump and bellhousing, but determined it wasn't going to work for my purposes. This and other issues made funding the project an issue.

I did make some progress on the VW bus itself though: wheel bearings, minor body work, etc., which was all a necessary part of the process.

Progress in 2008:
Started to get rolling again. Picked up a Kennedy Engineering Adapter plate. Cleaned up the engine. Started reading up again and planning the motor mount.

Progress in 2009:
Changed the timing belt. Adjusted the valves (hopefully successfully), started work on and finished the motor mount with help from a friend.

Got stalled again on body work, but got the engine hung, the radiator located/mounted, etc.