New forum member, old Rabbit, timeless journey

This is a place for us to share progress on and upgrades to our vw diesels.

Moderator: Fatmobile

abadcliche
Glow Plug

New forum member, old Rabbit, timeless journey

Post by abadcliche »

Hello everyone.

My name is Matt, and I recently entered the car world, the VW world, and the diesel world at the same time when moving from Brooklyn NY to Raleigh NC and bought a 1979 VW Rabbit diesel. Talk about a lot to learn! My only other car I ever owned was a 93 Corolla, which meant I never had to open the hood except oil changes. The Rabbit is a different beast altogether!

This was part of my plan, though. I make my living repairing musical instruments and as such am decent with my hands and decent with figuring things out, and I love to DIY. So I figured hey, let's kill quite a few birds with one stone- get a car with a simple engine I can learn on, with relatively abundant repair parts, that I can buy cheapish, that will get really good fuel economy since the price of fuel has tripled since I last drove.