Wheel bearings - how long have I got?

Technical questions and answers concerning all models of VW diesel vehicles.

Moderator: Fatmobile

StevenPH
Diesel Freak

Wheel bearings - how long have I got?

Post by StevenPH »

I've got what seems like the all the symptoms of a bad rear wheel bearing on the drivers side. Clicking at low speeds from that area when device straight or turning right, sound decreases with increase in speed. Its not incredibly loud, i can only hear it with the windows down, but its grown more noticeable in the past 500 miles. Ive changed all other bearings and cv joints, and I was expecting to need to change these ones out at some point.

Here's the catch - I'm in the middle of a 4000 mile road trip. The clicking has been audible for about 1000 miles, and I have about 2000 miles to go.

I have the tools (minus the press) needed to do the replacement, and have the time and space to do it, I just don't like undergoing operations I've never done before so far away from my home base unless I have to, in case something turns out way more involved than I thought it would be.

If I do it - any recommendations for removing the races? I've read a brass punch is ideal.
How about for installing the races without a press? I've replaced front bearings without a press, using large washers and a long bolt - would this require something similar?

Thanks
'89 Jetta 1.6d
82vdub
Turbo Charger

Re: Wheel bearings - how long have I got?

Post by 82vdub »

If you need to change a rear bearing on the road somewhere, I wouldn't mess with changing the races out. Just change the bearing, grease it up and hit the road again. I think there will be enough uniformity in the bearing assemblies that it won't be a big deal until you get home.
Everybody else lists their cars here - but not me.

I have too many to count
bscutt
Turbo Charger

Post by bscutt »