Injection Pump Questions

Technical questions and answers concerning all models of VW diesel vehicles.

Moderator: Fatmobile

Tmarkle
Cetane Booster

Injection Pump Questions

Post by Tmarkle »

So I'm new to VW diesel. I just bought my first one a few weeks ago, a 1985 Jetta 1.6D, and I love it, but recently it's developed a decent fuel leak. My best guess is the front seal because it runs down underneath the timing cover. Oddly enough, it doesn't lose prime, but when running leaks a pretty good amount of fuel, it has dropped my fuel mileage to 30mpg. So my first question is, can a mechanically inclined person reseal the pump on their own? Second question, is it safe to run for a little while until I get the seals and the time to fix it? I've heard it can cause premature timing belt failure and my belt looks pretty solid so I don't really want to bend valves. Sorry to ask a question that I'm sure has been asked before, but I want some direct answers. The alternator quit on me the other night so I'm hoping maybe to just take one day to fix these things and get her back on the road, as my Cummins doesn't get very good fuel mileage. Thanks in advance.
1985 VW Jetta 1.6D, converted to TD, "Old Gregg"
1996 Dodge 2500 Cummins "Yukon Pete"
colby
Site Administrator

Re: Injection Pump Questions

Post by colby »

The main shaft seal can be done with the pump in the car, but you'll need the sprocket puller or some puller to get the pump sprocket off. I would stop driving it, fuel leaking on to the belt will cause the rubber to soften and inevitably snap, which is not a good thing, because then you'll end up with the bent valves and stuff. I've heard that if the pump is really worn, the shaft will actually wobble to some degree which can cause a new seal to go out as well.