Old rabbit needs ac and serpentine belt

Technical questions and answers concerning all models of VW diesel vehicles.

Moderator: Fatmobile

Impala60
Glow Plug

Old rabbit needs ac and serpentine belt

Post by Impala60 »

Hi, I'm brand new to the VW diesel world and looking for some experience.Just got an 81 Rabbit with the 1.6 non turbo.Just changed the timing belt successfully and corrected a walking problem. Ready to start fixing more issues. My Rabbit has been abused by previous owners and needs lots of TLC. The ac has been removed (brackets,hoses, evaporator, everything). So I need to build a completely new system, and the alternator pulley doesn't line up good with the other 2 pulleys. I'm thinking a serpentine system is the way to go. Any ideas?
Remember I am new to VW diesels and am not familiar with alot of the different types and terms used,but I learn quickly. Thanks alot .
TylerDurden
Turbo Charger

Re: Old rabbit needs ac and serpentine belt

Post by TylerDurden »

The original AC setup used the compressor with a double sheave pulley: the outboard sheave lines up with the crank and water pump, the inner sheave only drives the alternator with the use of a tensioner pulley.

I'd skip the serpentine setup for now and go stock. It works fine when the engine is running smoothly.

I'm getting my AC back together right now. I ordered my condenser via ebay Canada... takes a couple weeks because it comes from Europe. The other bits can be found in the US.
Have a nice day.

'91 Jetta ECOdiesel TD - clean & complete (less motor/tranny) for sale

'82 Westy Vanagon 1.9 N/A - 23.5mpg
'86 Jetta TD - 45-50mpg
'81 Dasher Wagon 1.6 N/A - 52mpg
'84 Wasserboxer - DOA, parts donor
'94 Passat wagon VR6
'03 Jetta TDI wagon 230K, 52.3mpg
'89 Jetta N/A - 51mpg
'82 Caddy 1.6 N/A - Sold
Fatmobile
Global Moderator

Post by Fatmobile »

I don't know about serpentine belt conversions on a MK2.
But I do have a stash of AC hoses,... and maybe a stock condensor.