fuel system help...

Technical questions and answers concerning all models of VW diesel vehicles.

Moderator: Fatmobile

harvey
Cetane Booster

fuel system help...

Post by harvey »

I'm at a loss.

She's a '79 diesel rabbit. 1.6L engine, supposedly replaced around 1990. I've been running on B-100 for 3 or 4 months...

About a month ago; driving at about 10mph, just passed through an intersection, the engine shuts off and we coast to the side of the road. I pop the hood, poke around, don't find anything obviously wrong. All the accessories are working, even both headlights, for a change. I crank the engine. Crank some more. nothing. I let it sit for about 45min while I go into the grocery store we so conveniently stopped next to. I try again, and manage to get her started. We make it through the next intersection (maybe 1/2 mile) and the same thing; the engine just shuts off. This time we call the tow truck.

Vacation time.

2 weeks later. I check the fuel stop solenoid on the pump. It clicks very nicely. I change the fuel filter. I check around for leaks, no puddles to be found. Time for a joyride. She cranks, and fires right up with the standard cloud of white smoke. We cruise out of the parking lot and down the road. 1/2 mile later... another ride in the towtruck.

Has the biofuel eaten away the innards of the injection pump? why would it start up after sitting for awhile? I'm not sure where to go from here.

any suggestions?[/img]
tylernt
Turbo Charger

Post by tylernt »

I still suspect the fuel stop solenoid. It may click but maybe internally, it isn't staying open, or there is a break in the wire somewhere that gets jiggled when you go over a bump and this kills the engine.

The other possibility could be fuel starvation -- do you see bubbles in the fuel line from the filter to the pump when it dies?
'82 Diesel Rabbit • '88 Fox (RIP) • '88 Jetta (work in progress)
tawney
Turbo Charger

Post by tawney »