Best motor for my 1982 diesel westy

Moderator: Fatmobile

captainpartytime
Glow Plug

Best motor for my 1982 diesel westy

Post by captainpartytime »

This is my first post to this site. I've spent the last two days looking through every vanagon diesel post here, GTD, and TheSamba site. I'm looking to do a fairly affordable (I'm a high school teacher and my wife is a nurse) engine conversion on my 1982 diesel westy. I bought it from the original owner who had 325,000 on the clock before he had a full engine rebuild. The new rebuilt 1.6NA is just too slow!!! I am in the process of restoring the whole inside of the vehicle and now want something that will take my wife and two young daughters (3 and 1 yr. old) across the states reliably and with good fuel efficiency. I don't need a rocket ship but something that will be a strong workhorse. I think I've narrowed it down to either a 1.6TD or 1.9 or 1.9TD. I plan on doing the conversion myself but do not have much engine experience so it would have to be somewhat of a drop in, bolt up, and go. The 1.6TD 'ecodiesel' found here http://www.vwdieselparts.com/turbom.htm looks like a good candidate. I feel like I have a lot of good info but just need some help focusing on what my actual, feasable options are. I would greatly appreciate any suggestions from anyone.
1982 Westy Diesel
1989 Wolfsburg GL
2006 Bianchi San Jose SS
82 vanagon 01 tdi
Glow Plug

The one to use???????

Post by 82 vanagon 01 tdi »

With respect to all the people who have helped me with tips and info.