82 diesel vanagon need help removing head

Moderator: Fatmobile

DD 82 diesel vanagon
Glow Plug

82 diesel vanagon need help removing head

Post by DD 82 diesel vanagon »

hi folks,

new to the forum. after the initial sticker shock of having a mechanic replace the head on my van-again ($1500?!) i am strongly considering removing the head and replacing it with a rebuilt head myself. however, i have never done this before and have concerns about screwing something up: timing, putting the whatsit on before the thingamajig, etc. the manual is horrible for step by step, bad photos etc.

is there anyone out there who would be kind enough to provide a clear, step by step for removing the head and then replacing it on an 82 1.6 n/a diesel vanagon? i looked but did not see this on the forum. if it has been covered, please forgive me and point me to the post where this is spelled out. many thanks in advance!

dave

ps-ongoing coolant problems may have led to this: cold air blows out of heater, needle pegs, lights flash, panic ensues. was once every 6months,, now every 6 miles. now the signature white f5 cloud blowing out the tailpipe. jack suggests could be improper bleeding/burping of system by ignorant shop. thoughts?
libbybapa
Turbo Charger

Post by libbybapa »

Yup, sounds like a bleeding issue that may have resulted in worse.

The head removal for the diesel vanagon is the same as any other I-4 diesel (the general diesel forum would apply).

Andrew
VanagonExpress

Post by VanagonExpress »

I pulled a warm head off of a Caddy in less than 20 minutes, start to finish, including a good chug of Iced Tea--I did use compressed air speed wrench on most parts, but....

My Vanagon diesel would be easier...

other than putting everything at TDC, draining the anti freeze away from your work stations, and making sure you have several cans to toss bolts into....