85 Jetta engine swap

Technical questions and answers concerning all models of VW diesel vehicles.

Moderator: Fatmobile

Diesel Dean
Turbo Charger

85 Jetta engine swap

Post by Diesel Dean »

I am installing a diesel engine in a gas 85 Jetta. Should I remove the fuel pump? I am just wondering if the injection pump will pull fuel past the pump. Also do I need to put a check valve between the tank and the injection pump? If so what does it look like? The transmission is a 9a13055 five speed will that be a good trans for fuel economy. ( low reving at 55 m.p.h.
Thanks
1981 VW Diesel truck / 1984 Rabbit car welded together
bscutt
Turbo Charger

Post by bscutt »

I am no expert on that topic but my 93 Passat wagon with the eco diesel swap (I bought it wrecked) has the in-tank pump removed and it looks like the pickup was extended to where the pump intake was. I am having some trouble getting fuel up to the pump but I think that is due to a restriction in the line probably related to severe rear-ender. I have a low-pressure electric fuel pump helping out so it's easier to start and move around.

Anyway, I suspect you could bypass the in-tank pump and be ok. Leaving it in would be forcing some faily high pressure diesel up to the IP, probably around 30 psi or so. I don't know if it would allow any flow if unpowered and left in place.
Bob

'06 Jetta TDI
'82 Rabbit 1.6NA
Honda, 99 GMC Suburban, '41 Chevy Coupe
Homer T. Coyote
Cetane Booster

Post by Homer T. Coyote »