New guy new to vw diesels. Caddy w/ bad engine?

Technical questions and answers concerning all models of VW diesel vehicles.

Moderator: Fatmobile

oskarkat
Glow Plug

New guy new to vw diesels. Caddy w/ bad engine?

Post by oskarkat »

Hi everybody! I'm new to the vw diesel experience but I already love it! I picked up an 81 caddy recently that was supposedly rebuilt recently by a tractor mechanic the farmer former owner knew. I drove it home 150 miles on the interstate and had no prob, got about 55mpg :) . Right after though, the water pump started leaking. I got the bently manual and replaced it. The problem was with the coolant. It had a lot of oil and maybe carbon sludge in it. I noticed the coolant pressure seemed high after I got it running again. I re-tightened a few loose-ish head bolts but no change. Is it a new head gasket in my future? I just picked up a free 80 dasher parts car. Should I just rebuild an engine and get it over with? Should I upgrade to a 1.9l na? Or should I just use one of these 2 engines? Or upgrade one to hydraulic lifters with a 1.9l head? I found a guy on e-bay says he can build a 1.9l na crate engine for $1900. Seem reasonable? Will all my stuff swap or would I need a donor 1.9 for brackets/ect? Thanks for your help.
82vdub
Turbo Charger

Post by 82vdub »

Welcome to the forum, and that's a lot of questions. For the oil in the coolant and high pressures, you may have a bad head gasket, or something along those lines allowing combustion gasses into the coolant. If you do a compression check on the motor, this will give you a better picture of the condition of the engine. Or, when the engine is stone cold, you can start the car and run it for 20-30 seconds then shut it off. If there's pressure built up in the cooling system, then likely combustion gasses are getting into the coolant, as that's not enough run time to allow the pressure to naturally build.