Diesel newbie looking for some (quick) advice

Technical questions and answers concerning all models of VW diesel vehicles.

Moderator: Fatmobile

Coleslaw
Cetane Booster

Diesel newbie looking for some (quick) advice

Post by Coleslaw »

Coleslaw here from NH, I just found an 85 diesel golf four door that I am going to take a look at tomorrow. I feel like I am a competent mechanic having always wrenched on my own cars and trucks but everything I have owned has been gas. So I guess what I am asking is what should I be looking for when I go test drive this car.

What I know so far

-Timing belt/interference engine according to the current owner this was recently done (10,000 miles)

-The car has about 270K, I'm pretty sure a diesel is supposed to last this long and depending on maintainence it could still have a lot of life left, what are some telltale signs that i may be looking at a rebuild within the next year or two?

-"runs great!"

here's a link to the clist post http://nh.craigslist.org/cto/1642511008.html

I know this is short notice but if someone could give me some info that would be great.

Thanks
hagar
Hillbilly Tuner

Quick advice EH ? take your time go slow.

Post by hagar »

Coleslaw : you found a good place to ask , just hope that 82vdub answers. ,

hagar.
82vdub
Turbo Charger

Post by 82vdub »

Welcome to the forum.

As a basic test, I would make sure the engine is stone cold when you get there and see how it starts cold. If it's warm, just ask the seller if he just got back from somewhere etc. A lot of cars that have cold start problems people will run before you get there, so you'll be starting a warm car. Also, see how it starts after you've run it for a while.

You can remove the oil fill cap while it's running and see how much blowby is coming out of the opening. There will probably be quite a bit, considering it's age.