5w-40 synthetic in idi?

Technical questions and answers concerning all models of VW diesel vehicles.

Moderator: Fatmobile

kevin g
Diesel Freak

5w-40 synthetic in idi?

Post by kevin g »

Hello, I am having trouble finding a 5w-40 diesel oil for use in winter, that is non synthetic. Of course there's all kinds of 5w-40 and 5w-50 gasoline oil and (synthetic) diesel oil that the tdi's and newer diesels are running. Would it be safe to run this in an old high millage 1.6 idi jetta? I have never used synthetic before, is there anything that I should watch out for?
I was considering mobil1 5w-50 diesel synthetic
Vincent Waldon
Turbo Charger

Post by Vincent Waldon »

Go for it... perfectly safe and you'll probably notice easier winter starts right off the bat. Many many years ago when synthetics were first introduced there were some issues reported with synthentics causing your seals to swell, shrink, your pets to go deaf, etc etc etc, but it all got worked out and you can swap back and forth without worry.:wink:

Just make sure it's diesel-rated... CI-4 or better is the current standard that matches the CD you'll find mentioned in the owner's manual.

The only time synthetic is not recommended these days is when you're breaking in a new engine... *too* slippery for that application.
Vince

Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
2001 silver TDI Jetta Malone Stage 1.5 , 2001 blue TDI Jetta SBIII 216s Malone Stage 3
1970 Bay Window bus

Gone but not forgotten: 1969/1971 Beetles, 1969/1974 Westies, 1979 Rabbit, 1986 TD Jetta, 1992 gas Jetta, 1994 TD Jetta

Here's a small collection of HOW-TOs
kevin g
Diesel Freak

Post by kevin g »

That's just what I wanted to hear!! :D Thanks!
My motor does use a bit of oil, should I expect this to increase with synthetic?
libbybapa
Turbo Charger

Post by libbybapa »